Who Recognises OET 

OET is recognised and trusted by regulatory healthcare boards and councils in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore and UK

Many organisations, including hospitals, universities and colleges, are using OET as proof of a candidate’s ability to communicate effectively in a demanding healthcare environment.


  • here are many aspects to being able to communicate in a language effectively. OET therefore has four sub-tests
  • – Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking – to acknowledge that these involve different sub-skills and strategies.
  • Candidates receive a separate grade for each sub-test, ranging from A (highest) to E (lowest). There is no overall grade for OET.

Here are the descriptions for each grade that appear on the printed Statement of Results that candidates receive:


OET grade 

Description of ability 

Very high level of performance 

High level of performance, i.e. able to use English with uency and accuracy adequate for professional needs 

Good level of performance; however,
not acceptable to a range of health and medical councils 

Moderate level of performance: requires improvement 

Low level of performance: requires considerable improvement 


Results are published on the website approximately 15 business days after the test.